Frisco Sunrise Rotary Annual Banquet

The Frisco Sunrise Rotary Annual Banquet was held Tuesday, June 28th at the Frisco Garden Hilton. Great food, fun and friends were abound with many Rotarians and friends recognized.  First up was our Master of Ceremonies Nick McCoy recognizing the officers. Outgoing officers for the outstanding Rotary year 2010-2011: Nick McCoy, President; Jennifer Kimble, President-Elect; Angela Reed, Past-President, Erin Meltabarger, Secretary; Scott Seifert, Treasurer; Charlie Money, Sergeant of Arms. Thank you for a great year! Incoming 2011-2012 officers are already planning for an exceptional year; Jennifer Kimble, President; Erin Meltabarger, President-Elect; Al Kasahara, Secretary; Chad Rudy, Treasurer; Mike Gfeller, Sergeant of Arms.

Recognitions were off to a grand start when it was announced that the Frisco Sunrise Rotary was given THREE awards by District 5810! Honored were Mark Warchol for District Service Above Self Award; Geoffrey Davis for District Membership Award and Tom Dearing for District Ethics Award.

The evening progressed with our club awards. Club Service Award was given to Erin Meltabarger; Community Service Award to Jenny Dowdy; International Award to Mark Warchol; New Generations Award to JP Hogan;  Vocational Service Award to Tom Dearing. This year a new annual award was presented by our incoming Frisco Sunrise Rotary President, Jennifer Kimble, to two special Frisco Citizens from our civil organizations; Chad Laprelle from the Frisco Police Department and Will Trammel from the Frisco Fire Department.

The conclusion of the banquet was highlighted by honoring Peter Burns as the Frisco Sunrise “Rotarian of the Year” a heralded award for a member who truly demonstrates “Service Above Self.”  In the past year Peter, an Interact Committee member,  spearheaded many youth education programs including a speech contest among Frisco area high school students and the “Mindbender” youth engineering camps held each year to spur scientific interested among middle school students.

It is with great pleasure that we honor these outstanding Rotarians and citizens of Frisco. Our next newsletter will reveal the plans for the 2011-2012 year!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: