Day laborers

Recently the Frisco Enterprise wrote a story about the day laborers that congregate around a business on Main Street. It’s been that way for a number of years and over time the group has grown larger and larger. The article mentioned 12 or so laborers, but I think most of us who live here will recognize that it is more like 20 or more standing there.

The business owner was quoted in the story, saying he knows that he’s losing business because of the crowd hanging around but has never challenged their right to be there.

When we moved here in 2002 I cannot remember anybody standing there waiting for a job offer. I remember eating at the restaurant called The Depot, which is part of the gas station and buying gas at the station. But to be honest, since it became a place for large groups of day laborers to congregate I no longer go there. I haven’t been there in years. So yes, I would agree that he is losing business.

I completely understand the Frisco Police department’s explanation as to what is allowed and what is not.  Our Frisco Police Chief is a friend and I know that he looks out for the City always with what does the law say to do.  Perhaps what I am looking for is someone to take this to the next step. While I do not think building a special place for them to gather is the answer (I think that is a blatant misuse of tax dollars), I would like to see this controlled. Is standing on a street corner the only way to get a job in Frisco? According to the article, the city of Plano has established a fine for those who employ people off the street. Is this a direction the city of Frisco should consider?

Am I just making a big deal out of nothing or do you agree that this is something that should be addressed in our city? Let me hear from you.

Read the full Frisco Enterprise article here.

Geoffrey Davis

FriscoMortgageGuy.com

214-975-1266- fax

214-529-9622- cell

Honored as one of the 2010 Best Mortgage Brokers in Dallas! for D Magazine.  Ranked 25th in 2009 production in the category Largest North Texas Residential Mortgage Lenders, according to the Dallas Business Journal!

Geoffrey is the “Frisco Mortgage Guy”!

P.S. I use DropBox as a more secure way to move papers back and forth – FREE!  If you sign up from this link – we BOTH get an extra amount of storage space, still FREE!!!

Leave a Reply

