Who was this Paul Harris Guy?

How about the founder of Rotary in Chicago, IL on February 23, 1905.     
 
Mr. Harris was a young attorney, new to the area and anxious to connect and become more involved with the community. He, along with three other men, founded the Rotary Club of Chicago in 1905. The first meetings of the new group rotated between the offices of the four founders – thus the name Rotary and the wheel logo. When the membership grew too large for their offices, the meetings moved to a restaurant, very much like Randy’s Steakhouse where my Frisco Sunrise Club meets at today.
 
The organization that he began over 100 years ago is dear to my heart and I am proud to be called a Rotarian.  It is also a special club for me as my grandfather was a Rotarian, my father is a Rotarian as are my father-in-law and grandfather-in-law.  A nice long family history. I hope my children will also enjoy the camaraderie and community involvement it has provided me.

 

So now we know about Paul Harris, but what is a Paul Harris Fellow?  Anyone who contributes or in whose name is contributed a gift of $1,000 or more to the Annual Programs Fund of Rotary may become a Paul Harris Fellow. Each new Paul Harris Fellow receives a commemorative certificate, a Paul Harris Fellow pin, and a medallion.  And a month ago I became a Paul Harris Fellow.  My friend and fellow club member has given generously over the years and he shared his points with me and a few others, giving us this high distinction in the club.  I will be forever in his debt and hope that over my years of service I, too, can give this gift to a member in the future.

Leave a Reply

